​The Parliamentary Supervisory Council has appointed Marja Nykänen, LLM (trained on the bench), Deputy Director General of the Financial Supervisory Authority, and Olli Rehn, D.Phil., Minister of Economic Affairs and Member of Parliament, as members of the Board of the Bank of Finland. Both appointments are for five-year terms and commence on 1 February 2017.

In addition to the statutory eligibility criteria, the Parliamentary Supervisory Council emphasised expertise in financial markets and banking operations for one post, and expertise in economic and monetary policy for the other. The Board will decide later on the division of responsibilities.

A total of 19 persons applied for the posts. Seven persons applied for both posts, four applied for the post involving economic and monetary policy expertise and eight for the post involving expertise in financial markets and banking operations.

The Council was unanimous in its decisions.

For further information, please contact Matti Vanhanen, Chairman of the Parliamentary Supervisory Council, tel. +358 400 317 511.