The Parliamentary Supervisory Council has appointed Tuomas Välimäki, DSc (Econ.), as member of the Board of the Bank of Finland. The appointment is for a five-year term and commences on 12 July 2018.

In addition to the statutory eligibility criteria, the Parliamentary Supervisory Council particularly emphasised education in economics and expertise in monetary policy and the related research. The Board will decide later on the division of responsibilities.

A total of 13 persons applied for the post.

The Council was unanimous in its decision.

For further information, please contact Matti Vanhanen, Chairman of the Parliamentary Supervisory Council, tel. +358 400 317 511.