The Eurosystem comprises the national central banks (NCBs) of the euro area along with the European Central Bank (ECB). As a member of the Eurosystem, the Bank of Finland participates in preparation of the single monetary policy, related decision-making and implementation in the euro area.

The main objective of Eurosystem monetary policy is to maintain price stability in the euro area and thereby safeguard the purchasing power of the euro. Price stability is defined as an annual rate of increase in consumer prices below, but close to 2% over the medium term.