​Today, Mr Mario Draghi, former Governor of the Banca d’Italia, has taken up his duties as President of the European Central Bank (ECB).

He was appointed on 23 June 2011 by the European Council for a term of office of eight years.

He succeeds Mr Jean-Claude Trichet, who was President of the ECB from 1 November 2003 to 31 October 2011.