​The team from the Etelä-Tapiolan lukio upper secondary school won the Finnish finals for the Generation €uro Students' Award. The teams from the Lahden yhteiskoulun lukio school and the Helsingin Suomalainen yhteiskoulu school ranked second and third, respectively. The finals took place at the Bank of Finland Museum on 4 April 2013. The award-winning team was selected by a jury composed of Bank of Finland experts and chaired by Seppo Honkapohja, Member of the Board of the Bank of Finland.

The winning team and its teacher have been awarded a trip to the European Central Bank in Frankfurt. In Frankfurt, the team will also meet the President of the European Central Bank, Mario Draghi. The two other teams that qualified for the finals were awarded book gift vouchers. Those participating in the award-winning team were Markus Hilli, Eemil Nuuttila, Tatu Suontausta and Antti Venäläinen. The team was tutored by its teacher member Harri Korpisaari.

The Generation €uro Students' Award is a team competition about monetary policy, open to students in the 16–19 age group and organised in 11 euro area countries. In the competitions, arranged across Europe, four-strong teams are tasked with submitting a proposal for an interest-rate decision of the Governing Council of the ECB and other possible monetary policy actions. The Bank of Finland organised the competition in Finland. The Finnish finals took place at the same time as the Governing Council of the ECB held its monetary policy meeting in Frankfurt, Germany.

The Generation €uro Students' Award constitutes part of the Bank of Finland's activities, aimed at promoting young people's economic competence. The Generation €uro Students' Award provides young people with an opportunity for learning to identify the impact of monetary policy on the euro area economy and central banking in general.

The first round of the competition consisted of a quiz organised via the Internet, in which 20 teams participated. The second round took the form of essay writing. The three best teams qualified for the finals.

For further information, please contact:
Iina Lario, Communications Officer, tel. +358 10 831 2689.